2017 Scholarship and Bursary Reception

Board of Trustees, Donors, Teachers, Families and Friends of the Thunder Bay Community Foundation came together to celebrate and announce the 2017 Scholarship and Bursary winners.  This year 24 students from the Thunder Bay and the District of Thunder Bay received 26 awards totalling over $70,000 to assist them in realizing their academic dreams. Alexandra Valcourt who received the Rogers Scholarship in 2013 spoke on behalf of the past recipients. On her way to the Northern Ontario Medical School in the Fall she imparted great advise on how to handle the challenging road ahead. Riley Yesno a 2017 Joshua Dyke Scholarship winner represented the current group. Riley was in meetings with members of the United Nations and her speech was eloquently delivered by her mother Kim Bevilacqua.   

“These 24 students are incredible examples of what our community has to offer and they will leave a lasting legacy” said Bonnie Moore, Executive Director. After reading the many fabulous applications Liz Wieben a Scholarship and Bursary Committee member stated, “I can retire knowing we can turn the world over to them”.


Pictured: 2017 Scholarship and Bursary Recipients with the 2017 Scholarship and Bursary Committee and the Past Recipient Speaker.